NewSchools Summit 2010 Session Overview and Video: Awards

July 30, 2010


While much of the NewSchools Summit focuses on charting a path forward and taking a hard, critical look at the challenges and opportunities for this community in the future, it is also an occasion to celebrate the tremendous achievements of the education reform community. As such, NewSchools recognizes individuals and organizations that, through their embodiment of the spirit of entrepreneurship, have had exemplary impact over the past year. While those we honor come from different parts of the field, they are all passionate visionaries who act with a sense of urgency. They are tenacious and keenly focused on producing outcomes for students—and they’re willing to take risks to get there. Full details on all award recipients can be found in this press release.

Part 1: In this video, Entrepreneurs of the Year Kristin Groos Richmond and Kirsten Saenz Tobey of Revolution Foods, and Bill Kurtz of Denver School of Science & Technology (DSST) accept their awards.

Part 2: In this video, Ariel Rozman accepts the 2010 Organization of the Year award on behalf of The New Teacher Project (TNTP) and Paul Herdman of The Rodel Foundation is honored as Change Agent of the Year.

Part 3: In this video, Nelson Smith, founding President and Chief Executive Officer of the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools, is honored with a Career Achievement Award.

Part 4: In this video, Jessica Cunningham, Principal of KIPP DC Will Academy, honors the late Don Fisher. Gap founder Fisher was a major contributor to many education organizations, including Knowledge Is Power Program (KIPP), Teach For America, GreatSchools, and EdVoice. Next, Mike Feinberg, co-founder of KIPP, pays tribute to educator Jaime Escalante,whose dedication to the belief that all children could attain education success changed the way we view public education.

Return to the top of the page
Return to the Summit Agenda page